Queerying Memories

Reading the introduction to Sarah Schulman’s The Gentrification of the Mind brought up from the deep recesses of my memory two recollections – one of an Act Up action I encountered as an eighth grader, and another of reading the work of Paul Monette as a high school senior in a creative writing class. Accompanying these memories, in the light of Schulman’s work, were questions about my own coming of age as a gay man and as a musician. Specifically I wonder why I never continued to explore the stories of the queer generation before me, given how fascinated I was with Monette’s work and a few close friendships with men that age. I also wonder why I gentrified my own work as a songwriter and pianist when I was in my twenties.

A goal of mine for our two weeks in New York is to explore the process of pod-casting. In the podcast linked to below I briefly share my two stories and try to get the audio-generating machinery in motion.

See you all tomorrow!

2 responses to “Queerying Memories

  1. Yeah! great post, Ben, thanks so much for putting on the podcasts. I am at SFO, en-route to you all — I look forward to listening to this in the plane (assuming the promised wifi works,we shall see). Re-reading Schulman’s work, thinking on your observations here, reminds me how central “gentrification” as a concept is for our conversations and site-visits the first week. I’ll put it up under “Keywords.” We never really talked too much about it during our in-class sessions, but it strikes me that gentrification so often correlates into a willed kind of forgetting — be it the silencing of other voices and alternative histories in particular city streets (the lower east side in Schulman’s work), or willed-silencing in ourselves. And silence, forgetting, raises much we have addressed in Cole’s novel and elsewhere…

  2. Hi back to you Ben! Good recording. Am in my Landmark room recovering from a three plane trip from Honolulu which began yesterday at 2pm. I think cultural forgetting also depends on whether the history is based on an oral tradition and whether that orality survives (e.g. death of peoples/story-bearers/chanters by natural causes or genocide or the Plague). Thanks for a thoughtful post. See you for dinner. I’m hungry already!

Leave a comment